Armed with information…

Yesterday I called to make an appointment with a sleep doctor associated with one of the many local hospitals, and hung up the phone with a date and time scheduled for an initial sleep evaluation. Even though the appointment is about four weeks away, I’m hopeful! An official diagnosis of delayed sleep phase syndrome will be awesome… not that I’d like to have a sleep disorder, mind you, but it gives me a sort of validation, that yes, something is medically wrong with me!

Like loads of other people with DSPS, I’ve been called: lazy, unmotivated, depressed, irresponsible, apathetic, sluggish, moody, underachieving, directionless, and lethargic. What a way to boost self-esteem!

And if the doctor calls me any of those things, I shall thoroughly question his medical credentials.

In the meantime, I’m starting not only this blog, but a sleep log (a slog?) that tracks my patterns for the next month. Anything I can think that seems related to my symptoms I’ll post about and summarize in a short list for the doctor. He may not have a wordpress.com account and may instead appreciate bullet points.


About this entry